Ars Puniendi Part 4 (chapters 33-36)

By Terosk

terosk024@gmail.com

Copyright 2024 by Terosk, all rights reserved

* * * * *
This work is intended for ADULTS ONLY. It may contain depictions of sexual activity involving minors. If you are not of a legal age in your locality to view such material or if such material does not appeal to you, do not read further, and do not save this story.
* * * * *



ARS PUNIENDI
PART IV

Chapter 33 - Dinner Invitation
[Theo]

I kept on replaying in my mind the scene of Tyler, wearing nothing but his unlaces sneakers, departing the locker room with a defiant wag of his bare behind. It was beyond me how he could stand there in front of all of us totally naked and nevertheless maintain such self-confidence. Our alternative punishment was designed to humble us, and it certainly had done so with me and by all accounts with Thane. But Tyler, despite clearly having to eat his words from the day before, was now parading around almost as if he was enjoying the attention he was getting. He was instinctively a show-off, and the fates had clearly favored him in terms of academic and athletic ability, and even more so when it came to looks. He was classically handsome in that Greek statue sort of way which, now that I’d seen him naked, I could fully appreciate. I couldn’t help becoming just a bit jealous. You would think that the gods would dole out such positive traits a bit more equitably.

It was hardly a surprise that within the trio of which I was a part, Tyler was unquestionably the leader. Mr. Innovata was totally right in his assessment that the prank we pulled was Tyler’s doing and that Thane and I just fell in line and did what he wanted. I have to admit that I was stupid for following his lead on Monday, but it’s hard not to get sucked into whatever Tyler has in mind; he has, along with the rest of his amazing attributes, a contagious charisma about him that I can’t resist. I know Thane feels it too. He’s just such fun to be around.

As I headed off to baseball practice with my teammates, the conversation centered entirely on Tyler, his punishment, and his unexpectedly admirable response to the punishment. It was clear that I wasn’t the only one impressed. Yesterday, I had to endure lots of grief about my own naked episode earlier that day, and it was hard to deal with even though I was by then fully in uniform and thus dressed identically to my peers. I couldn’t imagine having to deal with an entire day in that totally naked state; and yet here was Tyler managing to do so without losing face - amazing!

I don’t remember much about what we learned in practice - my mind was clearly elsewhere. I dropped an easy ground ball that came my way, and then, to make matters worse, overthrew the first baseman in my desperate effort to compensate for my error. I’d been daydreaming. I had been picturing Tyler in that art class instead of me and imagining the comments that Eric, my sister Sam, and all their classmates would have made about Tyler’s physique, and whether he would have popped a boner as I had. …and given his advanced stage of puberty, I also couldn’t help wondering what he’d look like with a full fledge erection. I quietly kicked myself for not paying better attention during practice.

As soon as baseball was over, and I had collected my books from my locker and stuffed them in my backpack along with my school uniform, I grabbed my phone and texted Tyler. I was desperate to know how he was doing and if he was going to get his clothes back from his father.
I had met Mr. Formale for real only a few times; mostly he was off somewhere on business. On those rare occasions when he was in town, he’d be in his large wood paneled office sitting behind his big ornate antique desk, dressed in a perfectly tailored 3-piece suit. Tyler would stand in the doorway and gently knock to get his attention, at which point, he’d look up from what he was doing and give us a warm smile and a few words of greeting before returning to his work. All I could tell was that Tyler revered his old man.

Once, when by chance we had caught him during a break in his busy schedule, he had ushered us in to take as seat on the couch while he sat across from us in his big chair. He proceeded to ask me and Thane all sorts of questions about how we were doing at school, what sports we’d signed up for, and if we had any hobbies outside of school. He also spent some time asking each of us what our plans were for the future, what we were planning to focus on in upper school, and if we’d given a thought about possible careers. Thane and I struggled to find something intelligent to say to all questions about our futures and, to his credit, he seemed to listen to our responses with great care and always followed up with further probing questions. It was, to be honest, quite intimidating. He went on to ask how we had met Tyler, what sort of activities we typically played when we got together, and what specifically we had planned for that afternoon. Of course, we hadn’t made that decision yet; we just were hanging out together like always. I remember glancing at Thane who looked back at me and shrugged his shoulders, so we both then looked at Tyler who cleared his throat and responded that we’d likely play a video game or two before heading out and kicking a ball around. His father nodded approvingly and then stood up to signal that our conversation was over. I remember him pulling me and Thane aside before we could leave and, with a slight twinkle in his eye, warned us just loud enough so Tyler could hear, “Just do your best not to let Tyler lure you into any of his mischievousness.”

“I heard that, Father,” Tyler laughed and then added, “…and why do you always think that I’m going to lead my friends astray?”

“I don’t know, my son, …why do you think?” Tyler looked at him as if unsure what to think. His father then added, “Just be good, my son, and do your best to steer clear of trouble.”

“Of course, father, I always do.”

Mr. Formale rolled his eyes at that and returned to his desk, and we made our escape. His father seemed nice enough, but both Thane and I found him intimidating nonetheless; it had been an intense 15 minutes. And what was that last comment or warning about? Was he making a joke? …just giving Tyler good natured grief? …or was there a hint of seriousness in his warning? We didn’t have much time to process all this for Tyler had quickly led us upstairs to his room and got us into a heated game of Super Mario. That scene was about 3 years ago. Since then, I’d only seen his father a half dozen times and only from the doorway to his office with nothing more than a wave and greeting from a distance. He wasn’t exactly a hands-on parent. Tyler clearly had gotten used to it and was accustomed to admiring his high-powered father from afar.

I texted Tyler a few more times, but got no response, which clearly meant that he wasn’t near his phone. Then it suddenly dawned on me that Tyler’s phone was likely stuck in the box along with his clothes, and he’d not be getting it back until he got home, if even then. Poor Tyler, how was I to play my role as one of his best friends?

I decided to called Thane. He answered before it rang twice. He, like me, was keen on doing what he could to support Tyler, though his parents had made it clear that, despite his good report from Mr. Innovata, he was not to hang around Tyler for the next week. It made me glad that my parents were so much more reasonable. When I had returned home yesterday, they gave me the biggest hug and told me how proud they were of the way I had handled the punishment. Thane told me in detail about the History class he shared with Tyler and how Mr. Justi had set him up in the middle of the room and purposely forced Tyler, in front of everyone, to relive the moment when he was forced to strip. Thane said it was so upsetting that he actually relived his own horrible moment the day before in Mr. Innovata’s office. But then he told of the miraculous transformation he saw in Tyler mid-way through class when the discussion shifted to the definition of punishment as something universally unpleasant, and Sydney’s observation that what might be unpleasant for most, might not be unpleasant for all. Tyler, it seems, decided at that moment to embrace his nudity as a positive thing, even setting up an impromptu game of ultimate frisbee during recess after class, cleverly making a joke out of it by calling it ultimate ‘discus’ as if he were back in the time of the ancient Greeks.

As I listened to Thane, I couldn’t help the growing sense of awe I felt for Tyler. How he managed to turn such a humiliation into something positive was worthy of admiration. At the same time, I was also a bit jealous of Thane for being there to witness that impressive scene. I’d have loved to see Tyler proudly showing off his tan line. After hanging up with Thane, I texted Tyler again just in case, “U OK? Call ASAP” but still nothing. I even tried calling and left a message. All I could really do now was wait.

I took the bus home and grabbed a snack to tide me over till dinner and had just walked into my room about to change out of my baseball uniform when my phone finally pinged with a cryptically short response from Tyler. “Alive! crazy day. Come over - fill u in when u arrive.” I didn’t think twice and responded, “OK - OTW.” I raced downstairs and into the kitchen where my mother was in the middle of chopping vegetables for dinner. I told her that I had to race off to check in on Tyler who had had a rough day and had just texted for me to come over. She forced me to explain, and I gave her an exceedingly abridged version, focusing on the fact that he’d been forced to endure the entire day in the buff, and that Mr. Innovata didn’t have his clothes to return to him at the end of the school day, but that Tyler’s father had his clothes and would only give them back when Tyler got home from school and even then only if he got a good report.

My mother’s eyes grew wide as I spoke. When I was done, she simply responded, “Oh dear! I guess it would be good if poor Tyler had a friend to help him debrief his day. Okay -you should go, but you’ll miss the dinner I’m in the midst of making.” Then, after a pause as she enumerated all the challenges she could foresee, “You’ll have to ride your bike, so please be careful; it is getting near dusk and drivers can’t see you clearly.” And with that she gave me a hurried hug and a kiss on my forehead before repeating her warning, “Promise me you’ll be careful.” All too eager to be off, I immediately reassured her that I’d be careful and turned to go when she added in the tone of voice that compelled my full attention, “Theo, don’t you think you should change out of your grubby grass-stained baseball uniform before heading off; they’re likely a bit smelly; wouldn’t you agree?”

I looked down at myself and didn’t really see what the big deal was about but knew that I’d make a quicker escape if I agreed with her at least in part. “Okay mom, I’ll grab a change of clothes to take with me.” I turned to sprint upstairs to my room and heard her shouting after me, “And throw in some pajamas just in case you stay for the night, …and text me if that’s the case.” I shouted back, “Will do - thanks.” and proceeded to throw a pair of clean shorts and tee shirt in a backpack along with my toothbrush and pajamas. I then headed downstairs straight to the garage, hopped on my bike and raced off. It was early evening and while the sun’s heat had lost its bite, it was still sticky hot, so I had to acknowledge that I was sort of glad mom had urged me to get clean clothes - I should have tossed in a fresh pair of underwear and socks as well. I then thought of poor Tyler and had to wonder if he had even managed to get his clothes back. And then, from somewhere in the recesses of my mind, a simple thought forced its way to the surface. Did I really want him to?


Chapter 34 - Unexpected Admiration
[Mr. Alfred Formale]

There was look of quiet resolve combined with a faint hint of defiance in my son’s eyes as he looked at me before turning and heading towards the door. I couldn’t help admire the tenacity with which Tyler was nursing his anger. I must confess that I thought for sure he was bluffing; an act of bravado that would dissolve in the face of reality; but here he was heading for the door with a determination that I couldn’t have imagined.

I am, in my privileged position at the top of a Fortune 500 company, so accustomed to having people acquiesce to my will that this overt defiance was catching me off guard. At the same time, I found his willingness to test me impressive. Ironically, I was growing more proud of Tyler by the minute, even as I was being out maneuvered. I had to wonder how long his obstinacy would last; surely he didn’t really want to remain naked forever.

I couldn’t help replaying in my mind the conversation I’d had with Mr. Innovata. He made it clear that my beloved eldest was navigating his growing up with a spirited independence and a remarkably strong sense of self, even if at times his sense of fun leads him astray. He was, according to all reports on the academic front, a remarkably bright, inquisitive and creative young man; and all the more impressive when it came to his athletic prowess, especially in tennis. It was, as Mr. Innovata saw it, a willingness to question authority and test the boundaries of what were the accepted norms that had gotten him into trouble with both teachers and the administration. His sense of humor, not surprisingly, was very much an exploration of his budding manhood (an inescapable part of adolescence, he acknowledged,) and that he too often expressed it laden with sexual innuendo which many found inappropriate and at times overtly offensive.

I then began to replay the all too frequent conversations I’d had with Katherine in the past months. She’d been finding Tyler increasingly moody and difficult on the home front. She complained that it was all but impossible to get him to share anything specific about his days at school, that he was isolating himself more and more in his room when at home, or returning late after spending the afternoons who knows where? He was getting in trouble at school and it always fell on her shoulders to deal with it. Her frustrations with Tyler had quickly morphed into complaints that she was too much a solo parent and that I needed to figure out some way to be more of a presence in our children’s lives. While she claimed that she understood my unique position as CEO, and appreciated the benefits that went along with that, she would far prefer that I were more at home where I belonged, being the father figure that our three boys needed.

Given Tylers disciplinary infractions over the past months and the manner in which he responded to me this morning as well as his rather dismissive response to me this afternoon, I was beginning, finally, to understand and appreciate Katherine’s concerns. The real question now was how best to deal with Tyler as he asserted his independence in this most unusually bold manner. I prided myself on being able to remain calm in the face of challenges and devising clever strategies to solve whatever issues might confront me. I was determined to deal with Tyler’s defiance in the same level-headed way. Thankfully, I’d been keeping in touch with Katherine throughout the day. She was clearly very unnerved by Tyler’s distress this morning and horrified when I left with all his clothes, (something not originally part of my plan, but which seemed an appropriate addition to his punishment given his curse laden meltdown.) I assured her that Tyler would learn an important lesson today and she should trust my instincts. After my afternoon conversation with Mr. Innovata, I spoke again with Katherine sharing what he’d told me. She was deeply relieved and suggested that it would be nice to have a full fledge family sit down meal tonight to help debrief the lessons of the day and hopefully put all this unpleasantness behind us. It was an idea I fully embraced.

Of course, when I returned the box to Tyler, it was clear he was still resented my intervention this morning and wasn’t quite ready to put clothes back on. I figured it was likely a temporary display of defiance, but I couldn’t be sure. I texted Katherine saying that Tyler and I had spoken and that I’d returned his clothes, but that for the time being, he preferred to remain as he was. I urged her not to be shocked if she found him still in his birthday suit. She’d simply texted back, “OK - but remind him about our formal family dinner.” And then almost right away, she added, “and stress the ‘formal’ part.” So I quickly went to tell Tyler about our dinner plans and gently suggested he get dressed, but he made it clear that he wasn’t ready to yield. There was little more I could say at that point that would help, so when the doorbell rang, I found myself standing by the stairwell outside my office while Tyler headed to answer the door. I was hoping it was Katherine, but I couldn’t be sure.

There was a part of me that found this whole thing quite funny. Should it matter to me if Tyler was willing to answer the door in his birthday suit? I had no illusions that Tyler thought doing so would upset me and that perhaps I’d try to stop him for fear of some embarrassment that would rebound upon me and my reputation. He wasn’t entirely wrong - given the world we live in, I suppose it could be embarrassing for me, but I also realized how important it was that I not validate his thinking. I was determined therefore to feign amusement and let him think that I could shrug it off with a straight face as simply some adolescent phase my son was going through. Let him do his thing, I decided, and I’d look on with a smile from the far end of the room. I noted that just as he was about to open the door, he glanced back my way to observe my reaction. I did my best to look amused but otherwise indifferent to what he was about to do.



Chapter 35 - Cleaning up for Dinner
[Theo]

Pedaling hard without taking a break, it took only about 10 minutes to get to Tyler’s house. I didn’t slow down until I arrived at the front of his property and began peddling up the long driveway. I was all but out of breath, and I could feel sweat dripping down my face. Just then by chance, Mrs. Formale pulled into the driveway behind me. I quickly pulled over to the side, hopped off, and waved to her as she pulled alongside me. The window lowered and she greeted me, “Good evening, Theo. I suspect you’re here to check in on your trouble making friend Tyler. Given that there was an extra filet on my takeout from the club, it seems you’ll be joining us for dinner; it will be a pleasure having you. Perhaps you’ll be kind enough to give me a hand carrying the meal inside. I’ve got my hands full with work related stuff.”

“Of course, happy to help and thanks for feeding me a real meal!” She smiled and continued up the rest of the way and parked just beside the path leading to the front door. I quickly hurried after her so I could be of help.

“If you’d grab the large, insulated box with all the entrees, I’ll be able to handle the smaller bag with the salads and appetizers.”

“Of course; happy to help.” And I dutifully extracted the box from the back seat and carefully headed for the front door keeping the box level and inhaling deeply the mouth-watering aromas of a first-rate meal. Mrs. Formale meanwhile got out of the car and began to follow with her briefcase in one hand, and the bag of salads in the other. I arrived at the front door and had to carefully balance the box on one knee in order to grasp the ornate knocker. I gave it 3 quick raps before getting my two hands back on the box. While I stood waiting, Mrs. Formale arrived and stood behind me. I didn’t hear anything from inside for quite a while and I was beginning to think I should knock again when finally the knob turned and the door opened.

I’m not sure what exactly I had expected, but it certainly wasn’t Tyler totally starkers save for a royal blue baseball cap. He opened the door boldly and greeted me and his mother as if all were normal and he was welcoming long lost relatives. “Hello Theo! Hello Mother! So glad you’ve arrived.” He opened his arms wide in welcome while my eyes simultaneously went wide in shock, and my breath caught in my throat. He ignored my shock, “That smells awesome - so excited for our gourmet meal. Come in Theo and put the box in the kitchen. And mother, let me help you with that bag.” And with that he stepped back to let me through and then went out to grab the bag from his mother. I noted that his mother eyes got wide upon seeing Tyler’s state of undress, but she said nothing. She simply let him take the bag and followed him on in. As I headed through the hallway to the kitchen, I noted that Mr. Formale was standing by his office door looking upon the scene with undisguised amusement. I placed the box on the kitchen counter and quickly returned to witness the interplay between Tyler and his parents.

“Tyler,” Mrs. Formale finally said, “This ought to be a wonderful meal, but I believe your father passed along to you that it was to be a formal sit-down family gathering. I ask that you hurry upstairs and get appropriately attired. And please take Theo with you so he can get cleaned up and appropriately attired as well. His grubby grass-stained uniform doesn’t exactly qualify.”

“But Mother, this morning, you seemed to approve of me removing my coat and tie so that I could spend the day attired exactly as I am now. Surely if my birthday suit is appropriate for the formality of St. Francis Academy, then it should suffice for a family dinner?”

“We will certainly be discussing the dynamics of your day during our meal. Indeed, I look forward to hearing how it went and what lessons you learned along the way. But that part of your day is over, and we’ll be dining in our traditional manner. Now please get a move on.” She then turned to me and added, “Theo - Be a good friend and help Tyler find some appropriate clothes for you to wear while he gets himself ready for dinner. And, by the way, it looks like you could spend a few minutes getting yourself washed up as well - it looks like you came straight from practice. I’ll keep the meal warm while you get yourselves ready - but please be quick about it.” The look in her eyes made it clear that she expected me to compel Tyler’s cooperation, and so I turned towards the stairs and called out to Tyler.

“Let’s go, Tyler. I’m starving. If I’m to eat, I’ll need to change into something more ‘appropriate.’ I did bring a change of clothes – a tee shirt and the fresh pair of shorts – but clearly that won’t do for this ‘formal’ occasion; I’ll need to borrow something from you.” As I headed for the stairs, I took hold of his elbow and nudged him along. I thought perhaps he’d resist, and he did hesitate for a split second, but then seemed to think better of it and turned to lead the way upstairs, I followed from behind inescapably admiring his athletically toned back end.

When he opened the door leading to the third floor, he suddenly stopped. Directly in front of him was the box - the very box inscribed unmistakably with Mr. Innovata’s handwriting. The sight of it triggered an immediate flashback to the horrid scene I had had just two days prior in Mr. Innnovata’s office, and I could tell by the way Tyler stiffened up and the way his breath caught in his throat, that it had a viscerally negative effect on him as well. I could see that his school clothes were still inside. After an awkward pause, I decided I’d better speak up and push onward. “That’s a scary sight, isn’t it - I had a nightmare about my box last night and Innovata’s mock friendly voice gently telling me to remove my clothes. So glad this whole thing is over.”

“For you perhaps.” he responded, “but I’m not sure I’m ready to put all this behind me and the sight of this box doesn’t help.”

“Well, we can talk about that later. For now, you’d better grab the box and take it upstairs. We have to get ready for dinner, and I should grab a quick shower, or your mother will be upset with me.” With that I nudged him forward and up the stairs, but he sidestepped the box leaving it for me to pick up.

He then added as I followed him up to his room, “As you’ll soon discover, it is like a sauna up here - no air conditioning on the third floor, so you might prefer to be attired as I am - there are some advantages to nudity.” He turned his head to observe my reaction.

“Not a chance - yesterday was bad enough!” I responded instantly.

“Suit yourself; it was just a suggestion.” he shrugged. He then added, “I think we may have to have a ceremonial sacrifice of the box later on after dinner. I’d prefer never to see it again.” We had arrived in his room, and he then turned around and faced me directly. He began to smile in that devilish way of his, “Destroying the box will be fun, don’t you think?” I didn’t exactly know what he had in mind, but I noticed how utterly unfazed he was about facing me totally naked. He made no effort at all to cover himself up.

While my eyes were eager to look him over from top to bottom, I was careful to keep my eyes from wandering. “Uh, yes …I suppose. We can certainly demolish this box later on.” I replied as I tossed the box on his bed, “I’d enjoy that - A symbolic end to this unpleasant disciplinary adventure we’ve been forced to endure. But for now, I’d better grab a very quick shower while you put on something more “appropriate.” He laughed at my lame attempt to mimic his mother’s tone of voice, and then turned towards his closet to find us some clothes. I decided it was time for me to head for the bathroom and get cleaned up as requested.

I quickly stripped off my baseball uniform and noticed that my mom was right - there was a huge grass stain on my back side which I couldn’t see while wearing. It also was soaked through with sweat, so it was a good thing that I was being compelled to clean up and wear something freshly laundered. I was in the shower before the water warmed up which, given the steamy conditions on the 3rd floor, I found rather refreshing. I turned the knob to keep it on the cool side while I lathered up my head and scraped the dirt from my arms and legs. I quickly hopped out of the shower and dried off as best I could in this sauna-like space. I then wrapped the towel around my waist, rolled up my soiled socks and underwear inside my uniform, and headed back to Tyler’s room.

Tyler was almost dressed and buttoning up a dress shirt when I entered. “That was quick.” he said, “You must be starving; me too.” He motioned to the large double bed where he had laid out for me a blue blazer, a pair of slacks, a dress shirt and tie to match, as well as a pair of loafers.

“Thanks” I said as I headed over to the bed to grab the clothes but noticed that it didn’t include any underwear, so I unrolled my uniform and extracted my own, but they were at this point uncomfortably damp and unquestionably rank. I quickly rolled them back inside my uniform, thinking it might be better to borrow a pair. I was about to ask when Tyler spoke, his back to me as he faced the mirror.

“While I’m very hungry and this will be a good meal, I must confess that I’m not too keen on the inevitable interrogation I’m going to have with my parents. So, I’m glad you’re here - If you see me getting upset, please feel free to interject.” He said it offhandedly as he began looping a tie around his neck, but I could tell he was genuinely worried about it. His parents were a bit intense, and I knew from Tyler that they were tough on him, especially his mother, but I wasn’t at all sure how I could be of help in this situation. He continued, “And I suspect they’ll be asking you about your experience yesterday as well, so be warned. They’ll want to know what specifically we’ve learned from this custom designed punishment.” He pulled on his own blazer and then turned towards me. I had put on the shirt and tie, but my lower half was still wrapped in a towel. “Let’s get a move on Theo. I know it’s uncomfortable putting all these clothes on when it’s so unpleasantly hot, but we can shed them soon enough once we’ve survived dinner. By the way, thanks for being here; they can’t be nearly as tough on me while you’re here.”

“I guess that’s a good thing, though I’m hardly keen on reliving what I went through yesterday.”

“And you can bet my twin brothers will be keen on getting all the embarrassing details, so be ready for that as well.”

“Oh great - your brothers are cute and all, but they can be relentless.”

“For sure - but just so you know, they joyfully stripped off their own clothes this afternoon when I got home, and we played some awesomely hilarious naked soccer. It was, to be honest, the best part of my day.”

“For real?”

“Honest truth! …in fact, they were so into it that they tried to get Stephanie to strip down as well! …which, no doubt, would have been totally awesome; she’s hot, you gotta admit! …but, not surprisingly, she wasn’t willing.”

“Must have been quite a scene!” I said as I stepped awkwardly into the slacks with my towel still wrapped tightly around my waist.

“It was.” he said in agreement, then added as he saw me wiggling into the pants, “I would think that after your experience yesterday, you’d be a little less shy about your body. It’s a silly hang-up really. After today, I think I’m getting over it. Anyway, let’s get a move on. Time to eat!”






Chapter 36 - A Formal Meal
[Mrs. Kathrine Formale]

I had managed to get the meal ready and the rest of the family seated at the table. The twins, as I understood it from Alfred, had been quite a handful since their earlier adventure with Tyler and we had Stephanie to thank for managing to get them appropriately attired and settled down for a civilized formal family meal. It was a shame that she had plans this evening and had to miss the meal, though it occurred to me that given the circumstances it might be for the best. On the other hand, I had to acknowledge that Theo’s arrival, though unexpected, may have been a blessing in disguise as he seemed to be the only person Tyler might be willing to listen to at this moment and break through his determined stubbornness.

Even so, I was keeping my fingers crossed as I heard footsteps descending the stairwell, desperately hoping that the two of them would in fact be fully dressed. It was Alfred at the far end of the table who spotted them first and I breathed a sigh of relief when I heard him speak, “Delighted to see you fine young gentlemen appropriately attired for what promises to be a delicious dinner. Your mother and I are excited to be sitting down for one of our formal meals; it has been far too long.” I said nothing but greeted them with a relieved smile as I motioned for them to take a seat.

Being a parent has its difficult moments to be sure, and it was clear that Alfred and I were in the midst of one of those moments now. Of course, the warning signs had been there for months. At first I had thought it was something I could handle on my own. Tyler was a good kid at heart, an honest hard-working student, and a talented athlete. He was also a great older brother to Leo and Luke. Given how much he had going for him, we mistakenly thought that we could let things play out without parental intervention.

The first sign of trouble that I could point to was an email about two months ago from the school disciplinarian, Mr. Innovata, who explained that Tyler had used inappropriate language and gestures both in class and during recess, and, despite multiple warnings from different faculty members, hadn’t amended his behavior. He suggested that Tyler was probably going through a phase, as many kids do when they enter puberty, and was testing boundaries, but warned that if such behavior didn’t stop, there were going to be consequences. He urged me to reiterate that message to Tyler. However, when I tried that night to talk to him about the school’s concerns, he just rolled his eyes and insisted that the school was over-reacting and that he had been just joking around.

A few weeks after that, I remember getting a call from Mr. innovata informing me that Tyler had once again been turned in for an inappropriate and disruptive comment he made during class and that as a result, he was being given a detention that afternoon. He again urged me to address the issue with Tyler that evening, and again Tyler rebuffed the concerns as overblown. I’m not sure my getting angry and raising my voice did any good, and since then we’d pretty much avoided talking about it. I was too busy at work to exhaust myself at home with this unpleasant phase that my oldest was going through, and I was just hoping that it wouldn’t last too long and things would improve on their own. Alfred, at my urging, did try to address the issue with him one weekend a month ago when he happened to be home, but clearly didn’t make much headway. And so it was that we found ourselves at this present crisis. I was admittedly horrified by the way things had played out this morning and couldn’t get the image of Tyler’s impotent rage out of my mind all day. I was all but useless at work; I could only pray that the school’s unusual punishment would finally turn Tyler around.

Once we were all seated, Alfred gave the traditional blessing:

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name; thy kingdom come; thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us; and lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil.

Then he added after a brief pause,

And Lord, we further ask that you be present with us tonight as we discuss the events of the past week and struggle to learn the hard lessons of this particularly difficult day. We ask this in your son’s name, Jesus Christ, who sacrificed his life to redeem our sins. Amen

I have always marveled at how poised Alfred seems to be even in the midst of such chaos - no doubt his unflappable, soft-spoken self-confidence is why he’s done so well in the business world as well. People always seem to follow his lead. I noted that Tyler acknowledged the last part of the prayer with a smile.

“So, as we dig into our meals, it would be wonderful if you would share the highlights of your day with your loving parents. Luke, perhaps you’d be willing to share the best parts of your day.”

A brief silence ensued as we all picked up our utensils and took our first bites, but Luke was clearly more than willing to start off the evening’s conversation. “I got an “A” on my vocab quiz, and Mrs. Watkins said I’d done really well on my presentation in history.

“How exciting, Luke! Can you remind me exactly what your history presentation was about and what Mrs. Watkins thought was so worthy of applause.”

Luke loved being the center of attention and I marveled at how quickly the evening’s conversation got underway. I had, admittedly, been worried about addressing the day’s real issues with Tyler, so I admired the strategy that Alfred employed to get the conversation going. Luke quickly launched into the details of the project and Alfred followed up with further questions to keep him on center stage. Eventually he turned to Leo and proceeded in the same manner to investigate what he had to share with us. I noted that Tyler and Theo looked on with relieved amusement as that all took place. Leo had also done well on his daily vocab quiz, but looked a bit embarrassed as he confessed that he’d made one mistake so didn’t earn the “A” that his brother had.

“Not at all a big deal, Leo, provided that you’ve learned from your mistake and won’t make the same mistake next time. Learning is a process and making mistakes is very much a part of that. The important thing is to make sure you learn from whatever mistakes you do make.” I noted that Alfred looked at Tyler as he made this observation., though Tyler pretended not to notice. I took the lull in the conversation to encourage everyone to take a healthy portion of the salad as I passed the bowl around the table.

Alfred didn’t wait too long before shifting his focus to the older boys. “What a great pleasure it is, Theo, to have you join us for this all too rare family sit down dinner; we welcome you warmly to the family! And if I get this right, I believe you too have had a bit of a disciplinary adventure this week since you were involved in Tyler’s unfortunate prank on Monday. In speaking with Mr. Innovata, I understand that the penalty he imposed on you both was specifically designed to teach a critical life lesson. Perhaps you would be kind enough to explain what lesson Mr. Innovata was aiming to impart.

It occurred to me how clever Alfred was to steer away from the specifics of the boys’ punishments and focus instead on the lesson they were to learn from the experience. Theo appeared relieved to begin his part of the evening’s interrogation on the lesson. He responded matter of factly. “The golden rule” and then added after a brief pause, “you know; ‘to do unto others as you would have them do unto you.’”

Alfred nodded encouragingly and then pressed further, “Good. I think you’ve summed it up well. …and can you tell me in what way this alternative punishment helped illustrate that lesson?”

“Well, I guess it forced me, …and Thane and Tyler to endure the same embarrassment that we forced upon Arthur Little.

“True enough; and in your opinion did the punishment fulfill its aim? …Did you truly learn the lesson?”

“Absolutely - while in the midst of the punishment, I really did think of what we’d done to Arthur and was horrified to realize how cruel it was. It certainly forced me to see it through his lens. I would have been so upset if someone did that to me.”

Alfred again nodded in approval, and it looked like he was about to follow up with another question when Luke, barely able to contain himself, intervened. “Didn’t you have to pose naked for some art class? …Or maybe that was Thane; I can’t remember who got what penalty. All I know from the rumors that reached lower school was that one had to be naked in front of upper school art students and the other had to go to his own gym class naked.

“Yeah,” Leo exclaimed wide eyed, “And I heard that you both ended up popping a boner right in front of everyone. Is that true?”

I was mortified to hear the questions my two youngest were throwing Theo’s way, and I could feel my face turn a bit red, “Excuse me Leo,” I said sharply, “that is not an appropriate question. Let us please focus instead on the lesson that the punishment was designed to reinforce. please!” The menacing edge to my voice quickly put an end to that line of questioning and the twins looked appropriately chastened, though clearly sorely disappointed.

A brief silence ensued before Luke looked up at me a bit timidly and asked, “Would it be okay if I ask Theo just one more question; not anything specific about being nude and all, I just want to know from his point of view what he thinks was the worst part of this punishment.” I wasn’t so sure this was the appropriate focus either but as I looked at Theo, he seemed willing to respond, so I nodded his way and yielded the floor.

“Well Luke, I’ve been thinking a lot about yesterday and while the whole thing was a nightmare to be sure, the worst part by far was the moment I truly understood what Mr. Innovata had devised for my punishment. He had placed three boxes on a table, one with each of our names on it. He then reviewed my role in what we’d done to poor Arthur on Monday and pointed out that it was only fitting for me to undergo the same acute embarrassment that we’d forced upon Arthur. It was at that moment that I realized to my horror what he was expecting me to do; that I was going to have to remove my clothes and put everything in the box. To be honest, it wasn’t just the agony of knowing that I was going to have to spend time in front of my classmates totally naked, but the horrifying realization that I actually deserved the punishment. That, I think, was the worst part of the whole day. …well that, …and that other super embarrassing moment you spoke of earlier.

“You mean when you popped a boner?” Luke quickly clarified.

“Luke! Please be polite. We don’t focus on those sorts of things at the dinner table, for goodness sake!” My British upbringing recoiled at such direct talk of sexual matters, and I couldn’t believe Luke and Leo would violate that boundary.

Tyler interjected mocking me with my own words, “For goodness sake, mother, it is a perfectly reasonable question and Theo has given it a perfectly reasonable response. If you want us to discuss the lessons we’ve learned from the day’s punishment, surely you can’t expect us to shy away from the specifics of what we experienced?” He looked at me intently with an inquisitive eyebrow raised. That facial expression instantly reminded me of how much he looked like his father, and I then had to wonder if facial expressions were as inheritable as were facial features. He had become quite a handsome young man, and his insightful question to me made clear that his maturity was not just physical. I had to admit that he had a point, and I nodded in acquiescence. Tyler then turned back to Theo and invited him to complete his response.

Theo shrugged his shoulders and said simply, “That’s it really. As much as I hated going through yesterday's punishment, it was hardest I think to acknowledge that I deserved it and that what we had done to poor Arthur was horribly cruel.” And then he added, “And I suppose the punishment worked as designed since there’s no way I’ll ever do anything like that ever again.” With a great sigh, he sat back in his chair clearly relieved that he’d completed his part in the night’s difficult conversation.

For my part, I was deeply encouraged to hear he’d thought the punishment was fair and effective, and I was now hoping that perhaps Tyler would follow suite. I looked his way to see if he’d now offer his own assessment of the day’s difficult experience. He sat quietly for quite a while seemingly reflecting on what Theo had said and how he wanted to share his own assessment of the day. I looked over at Alfred to see if he was planning on speaking up, but he was clearly willing to wait for Tyler. I reminded myself that Alfred had already had his one on one with him, so it was unlikely he’d intervene now. Eventually Tyler spoke, “Instead of telling you what the worst part of my day was, I will tell you the best part. It was when I got home, and my most wonderful brothers joined me in a game of naked soccer. Wasn’t that great fun Leo? Wasn’t it Luke?” The twins were quick to agree.

“Yeah!” Leo said, “It was totally awesome on a day this hot to run around without sweaty clothes sticking to you.”

“I agree!” Luke chimed in, “If tomorrow is hot like today, we should do it again. And Theo can join us too!”

“Excuse me Luke,” I intervened in the hope of redirecting the conversation and putting an end to any talk of more nudity in or around the house, “Both Theo and Tyler have successfully survived their punishment and they can thankfully put that now behind them.” I then turned to Tyler and prompted him to continue in a different direction. “So please tell us what lessons you learned from the day.” It was my hope of course that he’d say something similar to what we’d just heard from Theo, but that turned out to be wishful thinking.

“So, you want to hear about the lessons I learned from today. Are you sure that’s what you want?” He looked at me inquisitively. Not at all sure what he was thinking, I said nothing, though again I marveled at how much like his father that expression looked. He continued, “Well, for one thing, getting naked is far worse than being naked. We live in a society so obsessed with the clothes we wear that we’ve been trained to think that being in our natural naked state is somehow taboo. When I started this day, I couldn’t have imagined spending one second without the protection of the costume I’ve been wearing daily. It wasn’t until History class with Mr. Justi that I revisited that misconception. The human animal is the only species that wears clothes is one thing among others that I learned today, though I suppose I already knew that if I’d thought about it. And the only animal that cooks its food too for that matter, but that’s beside the point. We had a good class discussion about the purpose of clothing and that what had originally been simply for warmth and protection against the elements evolved over time into a way to identify class and worth. We wear the school uniform for instance to mark our adherence to the school’s values.

We talked a lot also about the nature of punishment and that in an earlier era teachers could hit students physically to enforce the rules but that recent laws now forbid that sort of thing, so we now use the revoking of privileges and detentions instead. Clearly St. Francis Academy is now adding forced nudity to their repertoire. Of course, I also learned today that punishment is only punishment if the recipient considers it so, and I discovered, much to my surprise, that being naked is really not a big deal; indeed, on a steamy day like today, it may actually be preferable. I learned that if I just carried on as if it wasn’t a big deal to me, that others grew quickly tired of trying to give me grief about it. So, these, dearest mother, are some of the lessons I learned today.” I couldn’t help but note the defiant edge in his voice which made it clear that he wasn’t about to give me the kind of answer that I had been hoping for, none of the earnest contrition that Theo had shown just minutes ago. Yet he was now looking at me with that distinctively raised eyebrow, clearly awaiting some response from me.

I took a few long breaths to collect my thoughts. I could feel his anger and instinctively knew it would not help matters at all if I responded in kind. So, after collecting my thoughts, I responded in as measured a manner as I could muster, “I guess I should be glad that you feel you learned some important lessons today, Tyler, and that you feel that you navigated this punishment successfully. Indeed, your father and I were very pleased with the report we got from Mr. Innovata. He said that you’d done remarkably well today given the circumstances and even wrote a good letter of apology. I was, I must confess, sort of hoping to hear at least something apologetic about the incident on Monday that precipitated this whole thing.” I left it at that and looked at him with my own inquisitive eyebrow raised hoping to solicit the apology I’d originally been hoping for.

There was a long pause as Tyler considered the proposal to continue. Eventually he did. “Yes, mother, I did write Arthur an apology and it was, I assure you, a sincere one. I understand more fully now the position our prank put him in, and I am even willing to admit that it wasn’t really all that funny and that if someone had done that to me, I’d be less than happy about it.” I was deeply relieved to hear this and was about to commend him on the admission, but before I could do so, he waved me off and continued, “While that is indeed true, I should also share with you another observation I’ve made about the lessons I’ve learned today.

You may recall that the last bit of advice father gave me this morning, before you both left me totally naked and defenseless, was that the more fully I embraced my punishment, the more successfully I’d navigate it.” He paused for a second to allow me to confirm my words. I nodded and he continued, “You were right. What’s noteworthy however is the following: That as time passed and I became better at pretending that I was OK with my own nudity in front of others, the more uncomfortable others became with me being naked. Ironic isn’t it! When I was taken to visit the lower school, it created quite a stir with the secretary, Mrs. Prude, who I suspect complained about it behind the scenes, and I got the impression, when Mr. Innovata returned to get me, that he wasn’t really so keen on me being paraded around the whole campus naked. I tested that theory when I got back to the main campus. He had invited me to keep the towel wrapped around me until I got back inside the upper school wing, but instead I pealed it off and tossed it to him, reminding him that I was supposed to ‘embrace’ this punishment ‘fully.’ and as I did so, I noted his clear discomfort. And I should add that even now, as I suggested to Leo and Luke that we play some naked soccer tomorrow, that you were all too quick to change the direction of the conversation. So, it seems that you too aren’t so keen on my running around without my clothes. Funny isn’t it the way things can be flipped around.” And with that Tyler smiled triumphantly and awaited my response. I averted his gaze and glanced instead over at Alfred hoping that he might say something to rescue the situation. He nodded ever so slightly which I took to mean that he’d do his best.


*****





(End of File)